Chicago RCFL

Chicago skyline


Due to COVID-19 concerns, the Chicago Regional Computer Forensic Lab is limiting intakes/returns to appointment only and closing down the self-service kiosks.

Participating agencies, please contact your representative at the RCFL for assistance.

Non-participating agencies should contact the Chicago RCFL to make an appointment prior to coming to the RCFL.

Please limit your requests to priority matters such as life and safety.

Please contact our office number at (312) 913-9270 for any questions or concerns.

Thank you.


The Chicago Regional Computer Forensics Laboratory (RCFL) provides assistance to law enforcement agencies with jurisdiction in northern Illinois. The Local Executive Board has authorized the RCFL Director to accept significant cases from any agency in the service area. The Chicago RCFL service area is represented by the 18 counties listed below and is highlighted in white on the map of Illinois:

Map of Chicago
  • Boone
  • Carroll
  • Cook
  • DeKalb
  • DuPage
  • Grundy
  • JoDaviess
  • Kane
  • Kendall
  • Lake
  • LaSalle
  • Lee
  • McHenry
  • Ogle
  • Stephenson
  • Whiteside
  • Will
  • Winnebago

Participating Agencies

The Chicago RCFL is a unique partnership that promotes quality and strengthens computer forensics capacity. Computer forensics professionals from the following organizations are currently staffing the RCFL:

Local/State Agencies

Federal Agencies